8 Things to Hate about Kumon – A Review

I love ?
Creative Commons License photo credit: Manu-chan 山の恋人

If you’ve ever clicked through to my about page, you will see that on that page, I confess my previous, sordid source of income. My occupation took me to a cold and dank church hall twice a week.  I even employed others, some of them barely teenagers, to help in my dastardly enterprise!

I ran a Kumon centre!

Now in some circles being a Kumon Instructor is tantamount to a sub criminal activity! Kumon seems to be something that people either love or hate. I’ve started answering questions on parenting forums and sometimes there are  parent’s asking for a kumon review. The responses often go:
I hate it!

I hate it!
I love it!
I hate it!

I hate it!

So what’s my Kumon review after my time on the inside?

Whenever I read the pros and cons of the Kumon method, I agree with the moderate opinions on both sides; it’s not the answer to all maths problems but it’s not a rip-off or scam either!

However instead of providing an insider’s impartial Kumon review, here are my 8 things to hate about Kumon, along with, what you can learn and use from the Kumon method when tutoring your own child!

1) Kumon is expensive

$100 dollars or £50 a month isn’t cheap. (Yes Kumon is cheaper in the UK as there, the worksheets are marked by the parents.)  It can buy a lot of fun math workbooks or a lot of printer ink to print off worksheets! However it’s cheap compared to $30/£20 for private tuition. Of course tutoring your child yourself is the least financially expensive option of all. Don’t have time to tutor your child yourself? When it comes to time, parents feel that sending their children to Kumon will save time, but when you factor in ferrying your child to the centre each week, tutoring your child yourself at home is a time saver as well.

2) Kumon instructors aren’t qualified maths teachers

Most Kumon instructors, although trained in the Kumon method, are not maths teachers. As a parent you may feel that  because you’re not a qualified teacher or a mathematician, then you can’t tutor your own child, but Yes You Can! Who cares more about your child’s learning? In addition, learning alongside your child sets an amazingly positive example to your child!

3) Kumon instructors don’t teach

In fact instructors spend around  a maximum of 10 minutes with each student each session.  As a parent tutor, there will be times when you can tutor your child while preparing a meal. or running your business. Children love being independent, but not always when it comes to school work. We feel that it’s necessary to fill our children’s heads with information, but many times it’s better to encourage children to try to work things out by themselves with guidance where needed.

4) Kumon is repetitive and boring

In the Kumon method, children repeat the same worksheet up to 6 times. It is true that repeating helps kids get faster at their maths, practice does make perfect. Geoff Colvin in his book Talent Is Overrated: What Really Separates World-Class Performers from Everybody Else claims that 10,000 hours of practice is needed in order to truly excel at something. The key here is to make the repetition interesting.  Mix it up; use workbooks, drills, maths games, and videos.

5) Kumon is a franchise so results depend on which centre you study at

Different Kumon instructors have different personalities, some are very strict which is a problem if your child is sensitive and some are gentle which can be a problem if your child needs a firm hand!  As your child’s tutor, you’re in the best position to judge your child’s changing moods and to devise a flexible program (e.g. we won’t do drills today, let’s play cards instead!)

6) Kumon doesn’t do (much) problem solving

Kumon does this so kids can focus on improving their arithmetic, which means when they come across a maths problem, the arithmetic part of the question will be easy. Of course, as your child’s tutor you can also cover the important skill of problem solving.

7) Kumon uses different methods from those used at school

In maths, there can be many different ways to solve problems.  Of course it makes sense to follow the methods your child’s school uses, but also looking at other techniques will help your child when faced with different maths problems.

8 ) Kumon turns out arithmeticians not mathematicians

The Kumon method doesn’t cover telling the time, data handling, maths investigations, or (much geometry) but Kumon students will be fast at arithmetic. This in turn improves children’s maths confidence. Make sure that your child’s arithmetic is strong which in turn will support their learning in the other areas of mathematics.

If you’re a  parent trying to make the decision about whether Kumon is right for your family? Check out Maths Insider’s Ultimate Kumon Review.

So tell me, do you still hate Kumon?

More on Kumon:

About Kumon The Good, The Bad and The Ugly 

Is Tabtor a Real Alternative to Kumon?

 

 

Tagged As: , , , , ,

91 Responses to “8 Things to Hate about Kumon – A Review”

  • Jennifer on July 14, 2010

    Honestly, I had never heard of Kumon until your post. I live in a small town in Montana though, so that might explain it. It sounds interesting though!

    • ckmukisa on July 15, 2010

      Yes, not everyone has heard of Kumon, even in the big cities where they have a large presence!

      • brian on March 16, 2011

        Hi i didn’t mean to post this in someones comment space but i just needed to make a opinion heard. Kumon is terrible my kids went there and they hated it teacher were mean and everything they didn’t even tell them on their first day their were to put their things. They learned nothing!!!!!!!! ! Kumon get a better system- their “success” stories are rubbish

        • Meesh on April 9, 2011

          Although the title says ” 8 Things to Hate About Kumon-A review” in reality it has promoted Kumon program on the web and I’m not surprised that some people who have never heard of Kumon are planning to enroll their child in the program. From my understanding of Kumon methodology and philosophy I will try to answer a few points to counter what has been said in the article.
          1. Kumon is Expensive: Even a Piano lesson, Karate lesson or Swimming class or any sports coaching is equally expensive if not more. For acquiring skills in Math & Reading which will last life time, you need to spend for the future of your child.
          2. Kumon instructors are not qualified Math Teachers: True, not all of them are qualified Math teachers, in fact many of them aren’t teachers by profession in the first place but to become qualified Kumon instructors they go through rigorous training in Math, Reading and Kumon methodology, are a part of continuous professional development to develop their skills & knowledge in the subjects as well as instruction. Only people who can pass the different phases of Kumon training end of becoming instructors, many of them are highly qualified professional who decide to become entrepreneurs in the education industry.
          3.Kumon Instructors don’t teach: Kumon methodology is not about teaching rather making one an independent learner as opposed to hold the student’s hand through the learning process. Kumon instructors are guides or mentors. Kumon worksheets are designed in such a way that most of the average students can learn on their own from the worksheets, however Kumon instructors do explain the new concepts, they offer passive help and get the answer out of the students rather than giving them the answers.
          4. Kumon is repetitive and boring: Yes, it is repetitive because Kumon emphasizes on mastering a skill before moving forward and you only master a skill by doing it repetitively. Think about any skill that you want to master or that you have already mastered by doing it only once!
          It can still be made interesting, it depends on how you handle it.
          5.Kumon doesn’t do much problem solving: If it refers to solving word problems, then yes,Kumon curriculum doesn’t have much word problem because it’s goal for a student in Math is to reach Calculus level before reaching High school so the topics that aren’t directly related to Calculus are omitted and thus it’s supplemental education so that your child still needs to go to school to learn other topics. However it takes care of the advanced computational skills that you need even in your day to day life and a skill that lasts lifetime.
          6.Kumon uses different methods from those used at School: A child is exposed to different method and Kumon method turns out to be simpler and helps faster computation. As such the methodology changes from Board to board and time to time for example many parents complain that their kids are learning mathematical operations in a different way than what they learned during their school days which proves my point. Good students always take advantage of knowing different methods of solving the same problem.

          Some have complained that their kids are taught by High School students employed by Kumon centers. These high school students are part time employees to take care of lot of preparatory work for the class, they are not supposed to instruct. Kumon method doesn’t permit any untrained staff to be involved in instruction moreover to work in the center each and every staff member goes through in house training.
          Finally, the aim of Kumon is just not teaching Math & Reading but much beyond that. It aims to develop student’s work skills, concentration & focus, to become an independent learner and finally an achiever because KUMON truly believes that EVERY CHILD CAN BE AN ACHIEVER!

          • San on September 21, 2011

            Well said! It is expensive but what else is not expensive.

          • RMathematica on July 29, 2013

            Do you have your own franchise? I am looking into starting one in the US, and would like to learn what others’ challenges and successes are with the program.

        • Marc-Oliver Gern on February 21, 2013

          Hi Brian, If you are a KUMON parent and want to improve the service – please take a minute and fill out this survey: http://fb.me/2LpSmrkaT

          I am currently volunteering as a designer to build a similar service to help children learn math. You contribution could be of great value.

          Thank you.

      • Hassan on September 17, 2011

        I think kumon sucks! ive been going kumon since 2006 im on the Level H book right now, im nt getting anywere in life i im 14years old.
        Hassan recently posted..By: l

        • Amulya on March 23, 2012

          i have been going there since 2006, and i am on Level M, when my dad said I could stop at the end of March, it turns out that they make you pay for the last month, so I have another stupid month of this repetitive crap that doesnt help me. It used to, but NOT anymore, by the way im 14 too

          • Marc-Oliver Gern on February 21, 2013

            Hi Amulya, If you use KUMON and want to improve the service – please take this 2 minute survey: http://fb.me/2LpSmrkaT

            I am currently volunteering as a designer to build a similar service to help children learn math. You contribution could be of great value.

            Thank you.
            Marc-Oliver Gern recently posted..Cars, Apps and Savety – How To Build Controlled Distractions

          • Richard on March 28, 2013

            My son is 10 and is completing math level J. He is bored at school when it comes to math. His teacher has difficulty assigning him problems because they are too easy for him. During lessons, he practically completes the problems in his head before the teacher completes her sentence while the other students take 25 minutes to solve the problem on paper. He uses the time to complete his homework at school.
            Kumon homework is a daily 5 to 20 minutes (times 2 for reading) routine for him depending on his progression in mastering the subject matter. He doesn’t enjoy it but he doesn’t enjoy his school work either. It’s become a way of life.
            He does complain the current Kumon subject matter is useless because he will not learn in school for another two to three years. I pointed out he learned his current school curriculum three years ago and it’s positively benefitting him now.
            I am surprise from a few earlier comments where students take hours to do daily Kumon worksheets yet excel in their scores and wonder why they are not advancing levels faster. There is a positive correlation between the time it takes to complete worksheets and the number of errors incurred. The longer they take usually means they have not mastered the material and experience increased number of errors. Taking hours to complete worksheets yet no get any wrong doesn’t make any sense.

        • troy on July 22, 2012

          well, different for my son. First and foremost it was his decision to enroll Kumon. He started when he was 6 yo at Math level 4A after 1 year and 3 months he is now at level H-same as you do. It’s really weird looking at a 7 yo doing simultaneous linear equations, functions, graphs etc. Aside Math Kumon, he is also doing Reading Kumon and is now level E2, he also do piano and voice lessons once a week. On top of that we only limit him to 2 hours per week of TV or general rating online games.

        • Instructor on February 26, 2013

          I think it is your attitude that ‘sucks’ and that attitude will set you back in ways you will never truly understand unless you step back from it and take a good look at yourself. Kumon is about self-learning. Self-learning? Just Mathematics and English? No. It is learning about yourself. It is also about empowerment through that process of learning about yourself and the positive results you can achieve for yourself through your own efforts. This is brought about by gaining confidence in yourself which enhances your self-esteem. With that self-esteem, you are able to look beyond your selfish “shoot yourself in the foot” self in order to be able to examine and explore your potential. This leads you to tremendous success in every field in your life. Use Kumon as a tool to achieve this. Instructors are parents just like yours. They reinforce and validate the guidance your parents give you.

  • Dalya on July 15, 2010

    Well, I agree with what you posted and I can see the benefits of kumon. However, my son absolutely hates it although he grudgingly admits his maths has improved. I’m thinking of getting a computer program called CAMI (for maths and english), if anyone has heard of it or has some knowledge of it, I’d love to hear about it.

    • ckmukisa on July 15, 2010

      Dalya, my friend’s son’s school uses CAMI. She says it’s great and like Kumon builds up their basic skills. Regarding your son hating Kumon, try the following:
      Move him back half or quarter of a level – maybe the work he’s on is a little above his comfort zone.
      Split the sheet and do it in 2 sessions in the day
      For a few days, you be his scribe and let him tell u what to write on the sheet or do the sheet orally
      If the time is out by just 1 or 2 mins, and he’s repeated the sheet 5 times, just write down the expected time (WARNING This is cheating!!!)
      Hope this helps!

    • Meesh on April 14, 2011

      Hi Dayla,
      I have heard of CAMI-the computer program to develop Math skill. I don’t know how effective can it be especially for younger students. Won’t it be like online education versus classroom education? Kumon is an individualized program where the instructor plans lessons periodically for each and every student after evaluating the student’s work personally, identifying the weaknesses and skill gaps and also analyzing why a student makes certain types of mistakes and how to rectify it. Is CAMI going to offer this personal-human touch to your son’s learning process, is it going to motivate your child by mentoring him? Is CAMI going to develop your son’s focus and concentration skills, discipline and make him an independent learner? As I had said earlier, apart from developing the skills in reading and math, Kumon aims to develop the soft skills that last a life time.

    • Samesh on March 29, 2012

      Hi Dalya,

      Have you looked at http://www.lymboo.com. They have a very extensive math curriculum and it’s structured, and everything is online. Their content and assignments are much superior to Kumon. Also, their methodology of focusing on retention of what’s learned is also unique. Being online, all performance reports are available instantly.

  • [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Moms and Caroline Mukisa, Caroline Mukisa. Caroline Mukisa said: 8 Things to Hate About #Kumon#Maths #math #parenting http://wp.me/pX4q7-5L [...]

  • Henry on July 16, 2010

    Interesting. I had never heard of the Kumon method either. Wikipedia has a decent entry. Evidently about four millions students use it world wide.

    • ckmukisa on July 16, 2010

      I’d guess it’s the #1 maths supplemental program in terms of sheer numbers of students. I suppose the question is love it or hate it, has it helped raise maths achievement levels overall?

  • Mysticcrayon on July 16, 2010

    Practice does not make perfect, practice makes permanent. If you practice the wrong technique over and over you will just ingrain the bad habit.

    I have always considered myself mathematically challenged. However, my son is a born mathematician (maybe skips a generation?) in working with him, I have improved my own skills tremendously, though wish I had a greater depth of knowledge from which to draw in assisting him. He is rapidly approaching the limit of my math skills as he is in 2nd grade and can already do many pre-algebra and basic algebra problems.

    Are there any programs that can be recommended for someone who wants real math help but not of the boring drill type?

    • ckmukisa on July 16, 2010

      I always feel a warm glow when I hear of “non specialists” successfully helping their child with maths. Well Done!

      I’m guessing you’re in the States but the British BBC Schools KS3 Maths websiteis a great resource and is used by many children to revise for the numerous UK government tests and assessments. It has explanations, activities and tests, all broken down into “bitesize” chunks. The Key Stage 3 (KS3) site is for 11-16 year olds which I think you and your son might be able to tackle but also take a look at their KS2 site for 7-11 year olds.

      Anyone know of any US sites which could help?

      • Mohit Midha on June 21, 2011

        I can highly recommend Mangahigh.com: its a games-based curriculum compliant Mathematics resource!

  • Jamie on July 20, 2010

    Stopping by from SITS and 31DBBB. THANK YOU for this post! My oldest daughter struggles with math. A LOT and my husband and I have considered a tutoring situation such as Kumon for her. Thank you for the links! I think I’ll put some of them into use and see how things go. :)

    • ckmukisa on July 20, 2010

      Welcome! Yes it’s great finding new blogs from the 31dbbb challenge! Summer break is a good time to catch up on maths skills. Just do a little every day and mix it with drills, workbooks and maths games.

  • Mama Kat on July 20, 2010

    Wow I had never even heard of Kumon before…time for me to do some learning!

  • [...] Mukisa presents 8 Things to Hate about Kumon – A Review posted at Maths Insider, saying, “Here are my 8 things to hate about Kumon and what you can [...]

  • ANONYMOUS on August 19, 2010

    Whoever made thisit is an extremely effective way of learning. i’m now an A* Student and am exceling. ur prob just jealous.

    • ckmukisa on August 24, 2010

      Not jealous; just offering alternatives to those who don’t want to or don’t have the means to sign up their children to Kumon (my own kids have benefitted from Kumon in the past).

  • [...] PostsFinger counting: The Debate Continues! (16)8 Things to Hate about Kumon – A Review (15)Who else wants their child to be lightening fast at mental maths? – Introduction (14)No! No! No! [...]

  • annonymus on September 21, 2010

    i hate kumon probably because of corrections

    • ckmukisa on September 21, 2010

      I know the corrections can seem to be a pain, but actually doing corrections will help you learn from your mistakes. Ask your Kumon instructor if it’s OK if you only do 1 or 2 corrections per page, just enough so you can see what mistakes you’ve made!

  • Sandy on October 28, 2010

    I had my kids in Kumon Program, but I was very disappointed about their method,
    1. they use repetition and repetition until one day you get it, I belive the kids should use analytical-synthetic method, they need to analize the problem use their brain to get the answer…, I did not wanted my kids to be good robots but I want them to be briliant kids useing their brain and be really good at figuring out things. I saw with Kumon they will never be those kids, yes they will probably will improve their math marks but my goal is for life not just to have good marks now.
    2. Kumon provide students to help their students, and belive me they are not University Students but high school or Elementary School students, I did not want to pay a student, a few years older then my kids, to help my kids. I expected from them to have professional instructors, so I thought anyway I’m staying there an hour to wait for my kids so I figure out if I spend that hour at home teaching my kids math, I could do a better job then those high scool students.
    3. The place was so dirty it seems to me they never care to vacuum or dusting that place, in winter the floor was so wet with snow and the asked the kids to take off their boots and walk in socks on a wet and very dirty floor, my kids had to change their socks right after they finished, the place was unbelievable dirty.

  • Gail on November 6, 2010

    yes, I agree with Sandy’s comment, the place is very very dirty and I also realize they don’t care about us their clients they just wants our money, imagine going to you Dr and the place is very dirty or anywhere else, I had a shock when I saw their low interest in their clients comfort, how can you focus, concentrate in a place like that? and also I found the only mature person a lady by the name Katrina , very disrespectful, not friendly at all, very arrogant, when I presented my issue to her she didn’t even bother to get a solution, the way she spoke with me and treated me it shocked, so that day I took my daughter out from this program, true I lost my registration fee and that month but I was happy just to walk out from that place and from that uneducated woman.
    I strongly recommend OXFORD to you guys, your kids will get professional help, their instructors have university degree and if they hire students to help the kids their students are University student not Elementary student like Kumon has. I saw the difference between Kumon and Oxford from first day when I walk into this Oxford Center, I’m so happy I stopped Kumon and my daughter started Oxford.

  • bob on December 14, 2010

    i am in kumon it is sort of fun but you get prizes like xbox 360 which i already have i pod touch which i already have ipod nano and shuffle which i already have laptops which i already have sleeping bag which i already have tv which i already have Nintendo Wii which i already have

    • Nathan on September 16, 2011

      ^the prizes you are talking about are true, but my kumon center doesn’t keep up with adding points. During my first 6 months of kumon, I got a total of about 40 points. after a year and a half, I had 60.

  • Petra on February 16, 2011

    How fortunate for you. Too bad kumon doesn’t teach humility.

  • Tammy on March 24, 2011

    Just came across this forum and wanted to say Kumon has been a great asset to both my daughters. My oldest daughter has been going for 5 years, my youngest 4 years; both take reading and math. Yes, we have had our struggles and still do from time to time – but they view it as part of their required work load (like school work) and know that it is their responsibility.
    Both girls do extremely well in school; especially in math. Learning the Kumon method, plus the school math method (they actually learn math in French and in English – so they learn 3 different methods total), seems to have enhanced their problem solving skills. My oldest daughter’s teacher asked if we have considered testing her to see if she’s gifted because he is blown away by her advanced reasoning skills. (This is a girl that struggled with concepts early on and is in no way ‘gifted’. However, she has a great work ethic and studies hard.)
    Believe me, I hate paying for it, hate correcting the daily work and pushing my kids on the days they don’t feel like doing it; but it does work.

  • thinking about kumon on March 27, 2011

    hi, i am thinking about signing up my kid at kumon. if i had money to spare, i would sign my child up right away. my only concern is to save money. after going to orientation and seeing that they admit that they practice teaching with repetition, i would agree kumon or a type of kumon training at home would work for anybody for them to excel in math upto college and then beyond.

    looking back at my experience, as a child i was given supplemental tutoring in math throughout elementary school and i always thought this helped me in my later years. as a kid, i used to hate it. i was working on math on the weekends and during the week on top of regular school work. i even was being taught algebra in 3rd grade. area calculations in 4th, 5th grade. this at the time seemed not useful and hard and seemed so boring due to the bunch of repetitions (although by the time you hit algrebra, you are not just memorizing, you have to understand what it is being done in algebra and it is very good to recognize patterns in equations as fast as you can). speed is especially important in SATs.

    this repetition basically makes you do simple addition, multiplication in your head so when you get to harder stuff like algebra, you are not spending excessive time on it. Repetition does not make one a dumb smart.. It helps a person to connect things faster. Anyway. The point is, none of this supplemental extra learning seemed like it was useful because upto college, I never even thought I understood what math was or why algebra even existed (seems like computers can do these calculations much faster)….. Even though it sucked, in college, it all made sense. Not only could i whiz through simple classes, I ended up double majoring in math and computers. And no computer can only do fast calculations, given the calculation to work on. And computers break if you give them a wrong calculation to work (for example, if the instruction had a loop in it)

    Today as a computer scientist or when I work with mathematicians that come up with financial analysis computations (based on old calculations they have come to recognize through practice) I realize even more how important these skills are. I wish I was given more repetition, more subjects to excel in. I wish I was also given more reading supplementals.

    I think whether you pay for Kumon or do a strict version of it at home (if you can be firm/consistent on it) either way your child will benefit from it and will not regret it. Of course you gotta let the kids be kids as well. I know I don’t regret it and wish I had more.

  • roseybaxter on May 18, 2011

    Hi, I just started my 4 year old daughter in Kumon in Medford Massachusetts. I think it is pretty cool so far but they don’t spend a lot of time with teaching or even with my child. I find it very secretive what the young teachers are actually going over with my child. Now you explained they are re-doing the worksheets.
    Parents are not allowed to enter the room after a certain point.

    The owner of this Kumon is Chinese/Vietnamese and has a Masters in Education from Tufts University. I send my child for both (math & reading) and the first month was expensive for 4 hours per month (30 mins on Monday & Thursday afternoons) . I could make up those worksheets too. I’ll give it more time but I really can’t afford it long term. I wanted to my daughter to be comfortable with math unlike her mom !

    It is just a testament of the public school system in this country and how we are producing more foolish kids than bright ones in other countries. I don’t blame the teachers as much as the parents. Our basic curriculum is not up to standards compared to other countries. And we focus our students on sports way too much. Just my two cents. Thank you for writing about Kumon.

    • Caroline Mukisa on May 18, 2011

      Hi Rosey,
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Kumon. As a system, it can definitely work, and in comparison to long term private tuition, the price is reasonable. However as you say, it’s also something that can be replicated at home.
      It’s interesting that you say that Kumon is popular in the West due to the poor education system. I agree, however Kumon is even more popular in Asian countries with more traditional math education systems. It seems that parents all around the world realise the importance of their children being strong at math and English.

  • ANONYMOUs on May 28, 2011

    hate it, stuck there without my consent, work is irrelevant and has done nothing. The fact that i go there about once in three months has made no difference in my performance as when I went regularly. All for one hundred bloody dollars a month. The only reason I’m sticking with it, is out of financial obligation. If I wasn’t unemployed, I’d just pay back my parents and drop out.

    • WanguN on June 12, 2011

      Maybe if u went twice a wk instead of once every 3 months,u would notice some improvements. And with that attitude,no wonder you are not getting it. Your parents are trying to give you a good future,It’s for your own good not there’s.

      • l on September 16, 2011

        ^Their’s. Mabye YOU should try kumon. You will soon have the same viewpoint as that anonymous fellow.

      • OHM on November 22, 2012

        With your attitude, you might just take it and see how you like it.

  • [...] “Kumon” into Google, then Google Suggest brings up “Kumon Reviews” and the 8 Things to Hate About Kumon article is one of the top results! There’s a clearly a demand for “insider” [...]

  • Frank Ho on June 22, 2011

    Many different math learning centrse have different purposes so if your children just solely want to work on math computation and do not need instruction or teaching then Kumon is fine especially Kumon system is very efficient in running franchise, much like fast food approach.

    But if you want to have you kids not only learn computation skills but also problem solvinig skills then it requires quality taching time, this is where Kuon lacks but if they get iinto this area then their franchise efficient system will suffer. So here is the tradeoff from running an education franchise system of view.

    I believe a well-rounded math education system so my learning centre Ho Math and Chess teaches not only computation but also problem solving skills using chess and puzzles.

    Details see http://www.mathandchess.com

  • Pediatrician on July 18, 2011

    The way of learning maths which they (Kumon authorities) claim to be “highly effective because it is time tested and over 50 years old that follows the Japanese style of learning” is not based on evidence according to the US Department of Education (http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/reports/elementary_math/kumon/index.asp).
    Kumon maths is for children who are just starting to learn arithmetic or for those who find maths very difficult and are failing in class. It is not for math savvy children in higher grades. Children are given a timed test to ‘check their level’ and placed at a certain level of practice. Most children inevitably start with basic arithmetic like ‘8+1=’. Try doing 150 problems in 10-15 minutes! Most of us would make at least 1 mistake. The child has to have 100% correct answers. After months and books and books of this they graduate to the next level which is ‘8-0=’!
    If basic arithmetic is given for the first day, it would be OK, provided there were true math certified tutors at Kumon who would teach students mental maths, i.e. tricks of doing maths. Rote learning is never effective. The human brain does not remember memorized facts, it needs to understand facts. The same way children need to understand mathematics. In addition applied maths is what is important for smart older children. There is always simple addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division in any math problem. The tutors at Kumon are not experts in maths. They charge a lot of money for a few workbooks that parents have to help kids do.
    Mothers who believe their gifted student is getting straight A’s in class because of Kumon are completely disillusioned. It is because your child is smart and knows maths that he/she is doing so well: give your child some credit! Compare what your child does in class and what he/she does at Kumon- you will find a big discrepancy. Your child can probably teach the tutor how to do algebra and calculus!
    Kumon can actually hurt a child who is good in maths. If a child who is getting straight A’s in school is forced to do problems like ‘8-0=’ and led to believe that she /he needs to do over 500 such problems because that is what her/his understanding and level of math is, he/she will be completely stripped of confidence. Where is the challenge that smart kids need? If you want your child to practice at home then search on the web; you will find worksheets for a subscription of $10 a month. You can have them practice any number of problems that will be corrected and graded automatically.
    Therefore, understand your child and her/his needs before going to Kumon. Do not enroll your child to satisfy yourself, instead think of what it can do for your child: help or harm!

  • Michelle on July 22, 2011

    THE MAIN REASON KIDS [I] HATE KUMON: takes up time of their days. they feel its a waste of time and would rather do something else. extra homework everyday is harder than you think, because the child may feel it isn’t needed.

  • [...] Like many self-styled experts, BrandCultureTalk of course has never darkened the door of a Kumon Learning Center.  But we have been percipient witnesses to a sufficient number of students executing Kumon worksheets to ascertain that Kumon’s raison d’etre is drilling, drilling and more drilling. Kumon is a system Tiger Mom would love were she to ever consider outsourcing such essential inculcation (which she of course would not).  For parents lacking the backbone/cheerful cruelty of Amy Chua (no performing in school plays, no instruments other than violin or piano, no sleepovers and never, ever a grade less than the top grade in the class), but still hell-bent on Princeton, or Peking University, Kumon provides a reasonable simulacrum of Ms. Chua’s intensity. Setting aside the question of whether such hebetudinous repetition wrings out the last iota of intellectual curiosity that could possibly remain among today’s best and brightest after languid afternoons spent playing Cat Physics punctuated by repeated viewings of mororic pablum like Zack and Cody: The Suite Life on Deck, Kumon does appear to be effective at helping kids “compute with lightening speed and robotic accuracy,” even if it is the result of their doing the same worksheet six times in a row. [...]

  • Kelcey on August 6, 2011

    I HATE IT!

  • becca on August 7, 2011

    kumon helps your results enormously. it gets you above the standard for your year level, and also makes you quicker from all the repetition, however saying that, I actually hate kumon because of the stupid homework books. they are a waste of time, and if you are a high school student it is just another thing you have to do on top of all your other homework. i always have lots of other things to do, and the homework is just such a boring waste of time. i would love kumon if there was no homework. period.

  • Asha sreikh on September 4, 2011

    I love kumon and I am a twelve yr old that is very busy and barley has time. I made it into algebra because of kumon. I am ahead and the work I do is soooo easy. I would really recommend it at age ten cause that’s when it starts to benefit. My instructor is the smartest lady I know. I need help she explains it in a way which makes you think. I love kumon a lot. I thank my parents for enrolling me . And when I was told to quit an extra curricular activity I chose my favorite sport track over kumon. It will get ur kid in an iv league collage if she he really devotes time. This message came from a kid btw:)

  • Cassius on September 5, 2011

    First off, your #7, and #8 are not even things to “hate” about Kumon. Even in your review, they are things to actually “like” about Kumon. Second, Kumon is NOT a tutoring program and its not supposed to be and it is not promoted as such. The repetition is designed to train the kids to learn on their own.

  • Kumon parent on September 8, 2011

    Hi there,

    My son is 7 3/4 years old and has been going to Kumon for a little over than a year, he started in the summer after completing 1st grade. We began with math and added reading about 6 months ago. Initially he was placed at the 1st grade level, in a year zoomed through the worksheets and is now at level F (6th grade equivalent). Kumon was a lifesaver for him (and us his parents) as he started getting extremely bored with school’s math. I tried to supplement with extra work at home but he needed a good system. Kumon was able to fill that void, we later found out that some of his friends from school also go there which added some healthy competition to the success equation. My son has a competitive nature (he was very excited when he “bit everybody, even those who went there since they were babies” and went ahead of his grade-level peers) and though “rebels” against Kumon at times, still tries to do his best to complete the assigned work.

    All was well up to this point. Due to such high level of work that he is currently doing and other commitments (sports, other languages, etc) it is difficult for him to do 5 sheets/day as he used to do. We cut down to 3-4 sheets/day. He’d probably be even better off doing less than that to free up more time for other things that he enjoys doing during the day but this is where the problem is.

    I caught myself giving Kumon first priority among things that need to be done after-school even if I think something else would probably be more beneficial for my child because of (a parent confession follows…) a pressure of a monthly bill! I can’t help it, I realized that I have this thought sitting there in the back of my mind! Especially after finding out that our Kumon center charges about 25-40% more than what they typically charge in other areas, my math is good enough to figure out how much our family “looses” each day when work is not being done completely or when a week goes by and he only did what he normally does in a day or two.

    I think that what my son is doing on level F is beneficial for him in a “non-mathematical” sense: it stretches his brain, helps with attention, focus, concentration and makes him a better student overall. But going an inch in a quarter for the same monthly fee seems to be psychologically hard to handle. It really makes me question the true value of the math work itself that he’s doing. At this point Kumon helped him build a “skeleton”, he needs to put “meat” on it in a form of more word problems, reasoning exercises, etc. We would have liked to continue with Kumon but the way things are right now, it forms bad parenting habits (as well as makes my son’s work sloppier than ever before as he rushes through it just to be done sooner). I hate that this “use-it-or-loose-it” approach dictates my parenting choices.

    Any advice please?

    Thank you!

    • Caroline Mukisa on September 10, 2011

      Hi!
      That’s so cool that your son has moved so far with the Kumon program. Say “Well Done” to him from me! I can totally sympathize with you about having a young child on the higher Kumon levels. My own son was getting frustrated with the early part of Level H when I stopped his Kumon. He was 9 years old at the time.

      The problem isn’t just the repetition, it’s the fact that Kumon kind of “over trains” the child, that is, it gives children questions that are way harder than what would be expected in a normal textbook. What’s good about that is that it means that when kids meet a standard maths question, they find it easy, but what it also means is that they also feel that they’re not good at that particular topic because they struggle with the advanced questions. Level D and F and H are particularly bad for that.

      My advice. Algebra comes in at the end of Level G, and it’s nice if he can get some algebra under his belt, and Level G is relatively easy compared to Level F. Perhaps promise him he can stop at the end of Level G. You may find he’ll actually want to continue! I wouldn’t bother cutting down to less than 3 pages – it’ll just make the whole thing drag on. If it’s just not working though, then stop. You can then focus on the word problems etc. My son goes green at the sight of a geometry question – Kumon helped him be a “Maths Whizz” but gave him a false sense of his maths ability – yes he’ll still come top in maths tests for a long time to come but there are still plenty of maths skills that he needs to develop.

      Take a look at some of the resources in this post 6 Super Resources for Your Bored Maths Genius There’s some nice variety there which will be useful whether you stop Kumon or not.

      Hope this helps!

    • Eboni on January 27, 2012

      Hello, I know this is a bit late, but I just came across this web page today. I have to admit, I feel like you, as I have 3 children enrolled right now. All of them have reduced workloads. I rqstd a reduction in one child’s workload due to his rigorous college prep school homework load. However, they reduced all of their work. I have one child in level h, one in level f, and one in level a. I always rqst a full workload in the summer, however, for my 4yr old, I won’t be doing that this summer. I do feel like I’m bleeding money on occasion as I have them enrolled in another math program which focuses on word problems and problem-solving. An additional $100 or so per class! I do feel that they both have their benefits, and your child will experience a sort of, roller coaster effect with his/her homework “intestinal fortitude”, but taking the long-term goals into consideration, it’s always worth it to apply stick-with-it-ness to any endeavor. I hope this helps you, or at least make you feel less alone.

    • Ms Mary on April 5, 2013

      I think you would love the Continental Mathematics League workbooks- very complicated word problems, have to graph etc- its what kumon does not teach. Do a search on google. You will be surprised, he will be challenged! Honestly if your son is doing level F at such a young age, just stop. When he is older look for the SIG gifted camps in math for summer. Kumon is good to nail all the basic functions, but now he may be limited in using his creativity to solve problems his way. He has all the tools.

  • Asma on November 10, 2011

    I have 2 sons in Kumon for about 4 years now. Below are some of the pro’s and con’s that I see with Kumon:

    Pros

    * My son is a whiz at arithmetic now and that’s what gets you ahead. Unfortunately kids in western countries always need to reach out for their calculator to do simple math

    * Reading comprehension is vital for communication and understanding. The reading questions help build this and also helps them learn new vocabulary. Paragraphs are small and they may be a couple questions about it which helps test the child’s understanding.

    * stickers and points are rewarded which gives them a choice of items to “purchase”. A big deal for kids.

    * The steps used to master math and reading is gradual and repetitive which helps them build on their learned skills ex. in math kids start off with adding small numbers, then larger numbers, then subtracting small numbers, then large numbers, then vertical addition and subtraction, then multiplication,division, fractions……

    * The Kumon centre my kids go to is organized which makes things run smoother

    * My kids get 20 minutes worth of school work during the week which leaves the entire evening to do nothing and instead of leaving them to television, games or fighting each other, I find Kumon is more productive.

    CONS

    * can be expensive if you’ve got more than 1 child and they are in math and reading.

    * There is no interaction with the children and the work. By this I mean, when a child is struggling with something, to my knowledge, the staff is not required to help the child understand their work by going through the problem with them to help them understand which then creates repeat mistakes.
    This same problem occurs when the child does work at home and finds that he/she didn’t understand a concept and repeated the mistakes in multiple worksheets which in turn forces them to repeat all of the worksheets. To avoid this, as a parent, I am forced to mark my childs work regularly so that I know he/she understands the concept instead of repeating the same mistakes.

    * Due to the above, I put alot of time and dedication in marking and explaining/helping them understand their mistakes because as much as they hate Kumon, I’m not a fan of it either but I think it’s important they get these basic skills. I also do this to help them excel faster.

    * children will rush through work just to get it out of the way without regards to the quality of their work.

    * getting them to do it! After struggling for 2 years, they know the drill and don’t fuss as much

    * everyday is Kumon day no matter what, even on the weekends, even though its not a must but if you don’t then it’ll just take longer to get through Kumon.

    Hope this helps some of you parent(s).

    I think a lot of people believe that Kumon should help raise their childs marks in school. Make no mistake, Kumon is not necessarily for kids who are struggling but those who want their child(ren) to master arithmetic and reading comprehension skills.

  • mollie on January 24, 2012

    i still hate kumon. A LOT!
    alothough it has helped me improve on maths, it’s also been getting in my way many, many times with homework. with the amount of homework i’m getting and adding kumon homework, i sometimes think i can’t get it all done and i really want to get high marks from school! and so i don’t really finish my kumon homework, resulting to a waste of a whole lot of trees.

    I HATE KUMON! XP

  • Leon Collins on January 26, 2012

    Enjoyed reading your blog. I’m doing some research on the “big guys” in the world of tutoring – appreciated the perspective from an insider.
    If you have a minute please check out the latest post on our blog (I think you might enjoy it).

    http://www.nextleveltutoring.net

    Good luck and hope to hear from you!

    Leon

  • Sebastian on February 8, 2012

    I went to kumon for 8 months and I feel it quietly good…The problem is that by the time I get there
    I was entering to University so the instructors
    at Kumon told me that i needed to began by level
    A, and I felt very dissapointed because i was 18 Yrs and
    to learn things like 5+5 it very distress for my age and
    boring but I had hope that in 2 months I reach the
    level L but the reality but me far away. The Kumon
    instructors never wanted me to get more math sheets
    and even if I learn to solve the problems 100% by using their method, they asked me to repeat it 5 times more
    and that 5x more means you spending 2 weeks more for just and operation..So when I reach the 8 months I ended on level H but all the math that i learn was useless for my age and for the carrer I began to study. And that’s the reason I quit so in short words (KUMON is just for little kids and not for adult people)

  • overm2 on February 18, 2012

    Kumon has helped me but teaching is weird and gives me headaches my brother stoped doing kumon but i still do it it is terrible i hate it so much.

  • Christy on February 21, 2012

    Sometimes I am puzzled whether I need to keep my kids in Kumon. They have been doing Kumon for a year. I think my son improved some in his reading, but for math, it is like what others are saying that it did not teach problem solving skills. My kids hate Kumon as well. I am afraid the longer I keep them in Kumon, the more they will hate study, which would be the worst outcome of doing Kumon, plus it is expensive.

    • Caroline Mukisa on February 22, 2012

      You’ll likely see a more visible improvement in math skills on the Kumon program after the 18 month mark. The first year or so fills any gaps in their knowledge and lays the foundation for the higher level work. Have you looked at any of the online math programs like Math-Whizz? They may not produce kids who are as super-fast as arithmeticians, but are great for building overall math skills including problem solving. My latest post highlights why my son loves Math-Whizz. Hope this helps!

  • eamrolf on May 9, 2012

    i want to be good in math.. but every time our professor discussed, i doesn’t able to catch-up that’s why i always got bad grades, low scores… how should i catch-up our lessons in an easy way? to get good grades?…can somebody help me?

  • Hatter on June 16, 2012

    Kumon is VERY effective, it has helped my child’s speed in class, confidence and her work skills, she was unable to do simple maths skills at 13 even though she has been to private schools throughout her life. She can do advanced maths very well but has never been taught basic arithmetic.

  • Mary Smith on July 23, 2012

    Kumon is simply horrible. I’m learning grade 12 language arts and grade 11 math. What’s the point in learning it if you’re going to forget it when you get to high school. Honestly, I’ve went to Kumon ever since I was in grade 3 and it’s stupid. Especially the instructor’s daughter. She’s a bitch when she sees me. I ditch often but you can’t blame me. It’s a waste of my time and i want to live a fun carefree childhood but that’s ruined. Now I’m in my teen years and I still am stuck wih kumon. But i had asked my parents if I could quit at the end of 8th grade and they said maybe.

  • M on August 20, 2012

    Kumon is an awful learning center. How would doing a large amount of homework that is, in most cases, completely unrelated to school lessons, help the student? It would only overwhelm him/her and foster a hatred towards learning. Yes, it’s true they want the kids to teach themselves, but that may be a little rocky. Strong early education is essential to being able to teach yourself in the future, so in elementary and middle school, you do want someone to “hold your hand” in teaching. You need a strong foundation to build off of for the future. Kumon does not provide that. And in later middle school and high school years, regular schools provide so much homework that any additional work will be extremely stressful for the child.

  • Will on August 22, 2012

    THIS WAS MY EXPERIENCE: I MADE A REGISTRATION FOR MY 6 YEARS OLD SON ON MONDAY (5/7/2012 @ 79-43 Metropolitan Ave, Middle Village, NY 11379) AND I WAS GOING TO PAY THE OTHER FEE AND ONE MOTHN PAYMENT ON FRIDAY (5/11/12) WHICH WAS THE DAY A PICKED TO MY SON TO START THE PROGRAM. SO, FROM MONDAY TO FRIDAY I SPREAD THE WORD TO ALL MY PARENTS FRIENDS ABOUT THE PROGRAM COZ I WAS VERY EXCITED FOR MY SON. AND BECAUSE OF THAT I HEARED AWFULL REVIEWS ABOUT THIS PLACE INCLUDING ONE MOTHER WHO WORKS ON DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. I DIDN’T HEAR NOT EVEN ONE GOOD REVIEW ABOUT THIS PLACE. SO I DECIDED NOT TO MOVE FORWARD WITH THE PROGRAM. I MADE A $ 50 REGISTRATION FEE ON THIS PLACE AND I WAS TOTALLY AWARE ABOUT THE NON REFUNDABLE REGISTRATION POLICY. HOWEVER, I JUST WOULD LIKE TO ADVICE FOR ANY PARENTS OUT THERE TO BE 100% SURE BEFORE ENROOL YOUR CHILD ON KUMON PROGRAM. DO YOUR RESEARCH AND ASK FRIENDS BEFORE ENROOLLING. I LEARNED THAT IS NOT WORTH IT BECAUSE WHO REALLY DOES THE “JOB” ARE THE PARENTS. BESIDES, I RATHER PAY A LITTLE BE MORE FOR A TUTOR WHO WILL BE FACE TO FACE WITH MY SON (IT MAKES MORE SENSE TO ME).
    ALSO, I’M TRULY BEEING HONEST WITH THIS REVIEW AND I MUST TO SAY THAT ALL THRU I DIDN’T TRY THE PROGRAM MYSELF DUE TO BAD REVIEWS AND EXPERIENCES ABOUT THE PROGRAM. IT’S WAS MY CHOICE NOT TO MOVE FORWARD.

  • jkandas on September 9, 2012

    Hi,

    I have 2 kids in Kumon now. My sone hates it as it repetitive and boring. However he’s also happy that he’s ahead in his class. My daughter likes it and also ahead in her class. I think its good for early ages as its sharpens arithmetic and teach kids that practice makes perfect. The activities also teachers discipline and consistency as they need to do practice daily.
    I have found atomicsteps.com which is a new Math practice site which allows for kids to practice online, self graded with thousands of questions. Its not boring as its filled with critical thinking and images. Try it out !

  • SuburbanImpi on October 10, 2012

    Hi,
    I read this dicussion with interest.

    My daughters are 2yrs and 4yrs old. I bought the Lets Color, -Paste and -Cut workbooks for them. Also the Workbook of Mazes and workbook on drawings. They love it!

    I see your comments all are for the more advanced and children attending the weekly classes.

    I haven’t approached the KUMON Centre in my area so I dont know what any of the classes are all about.

    Could you please explain step by step how it works, and what are expected of the instructors and the kids alike during any class.

    Cant I buy the books as they get older and let them work through them at their own pace? Can a parent be a instructor?

    Any constructive feedback will be appreciated.

    :)

    • Caroline Mukisa on October 14, 2012

      Glad to hear your girls liked the Kumon books. The Kumon books are actually quite good (I’ve used some with my own preschooler) In fact I’d go as far as saying that in general the preschool Kumon materials on the actual Kumon program are also good for the first 3 or 4 levels – kids tend to like the colourful, fun nature of the worksheets at those levels.
      Most Kumon centres wouldn’t take children until they are 3 or 4 years old (I started the preschool materials with one of my kids at 2.5 years old but that was because as an instructor I had the materials and could do it with him at home) I think the Kumon books are a good substitute for those who can’t get hold of the materials
      Regarding parents being their child’s instructor: parents aren’t allowed into the work area so your child would only work with the Kumon instructor or one of the assistants. However, since worksheets are also given for the child to do at home on the remaining 6 days, in effect you are your child’s instructor on those days. You could also just go to the centre to pick up the work or get the instructor to mail the work to you then do all the work at home with your child.
      Hope that helps!

      • SuburbanImpi on October 15, 2012

        Thanks Caroline! I think I will continue with the workbooks at home. Once both are around 4yrs I will enroll them at the center closes to us.

  • Ferix on October 14, 2012

    The instructor (who shall remain unnamed) of Hornsby and Neutral Bay Kumon Franchises in Sydney has been ripping off parents for decades. She has basically applied a ‘tiger mum’ approach with none of the effectiveness, since she doesn’t believe in ‘teaching’. This results in children as young as 4 crying EVERY lesson and students having their confidence crushed. Maths and English errors are quite vocally reprimanded so the student is publically humiliated in front of their peers. The instructor is self worshipping and thinks that any inconvenience (such as homework not being marked), is the fault of the child or her staff. Perhaps if Kumon implemented some basic educational and personality screening for their franchisers they wouldn’t have this travesty.

  • edsel on November 11, 2012

    EVERY BODY HAVE A OPINION.I APPLYING FOR A PART TIME MATH TEACHER IN KUMON.I’M A CIVIL ENGINEER, AS A ENGINEER WE HAVE EXTENSIVE STUDY IN ADVANCE MATH.I STILL LOVE KUMON.

  • Aiden on December 11, 2012

    I’ve been going to Kumon for two years now and I really like it. Sure they give you lots of lessons to take home, but how else are you going to hone your mathematical skills? I don’t mind the extra home work since I’m an indoors kind of guy. I’m very well disciplined in my scholastic home studies and music lessons (classical guitar, bass and piano).

    After high school I plan to pursue my future studies in either psychology or accounting. Yeah, two subjects that are world’s apart but they both pique my interests especially psychology.

    When my Mom and Dad first brought me to Kumon I noticed the sign on the building of the Kumon center with the serious looking kid’s face in the letter O. That is so cool looking!

  • Brian on December 11, 2012

    Really don’t understand the people who moan, Kumon is a great system , my child at 8 rears old was bottom of his class in matghs and English, after one year at Kumon he is now top of his class in Maths and has made great improvements in his English. No he didnt like doing it, it used to take him nearly an hour a day to do the work and yes we had some tantrums ,but now it takes him no more that 20 minutes a day and usually just ten minutes its not hard its easy and he is very pleased with his own efforts, and I am very proud of him also.

  • Michael on December 17, 2012

    If you have an iPad check out http://www.Tabtor.com its Khan Academy on Steriods. Its a personal math tutor for your child on the iPad. The child gets a diagnostic test at the beginning and the tutor then personalizes the work activity based on results. There is a 14 day free trial period with no credit card or commitment necessary. There is no catch. Think of this as the netflix of the tutoring world, you get superior service from the comfort of your home. A tutor contacts you on a daily basis regarding your child’s performance through email and one 15 minute conference call per week.

    Here is a video of my son using the program, see for yourself. Please contact me if you have any questions.


    Michael recently posted..Technology in classrooms – Do we need it?

  • Mia on January 22, 2013

    Just like to add that my daughter has been going for two months and I believe we are starting to see a difference. It’s the beginning of the 3rd marking period and her grades are picking up and she just received her 1st “A” in math, spelling and reading last week. We are so excited! I hope this is the turning point. The Kumon program does focus on repetition but I think that it is working for her. Her time is getting faster with the worksheets, from 40 min per sheet to 8 min. Her confidence is building too. I believe her confidence, or lack there of, in the class room and with homework is a big part of the problem we were having. So 2 months in and we are seeing lot’s of improvement. Our goal is to get her caught up and prepare her for 3rd grade next year!

  • Tina on February 13, 2013

    I’m 13 and I go to Kumon. I think it’s very helpful. Kumon made math so much easier for me. (I’m really bored in Algebra class in school). Even though it is stressful at times when they give super hard problems, and I ending staying at the center for about 2-3 hours, I think it’s worth it. I started Kumon in 2007, but then I had to quit. I started it again in 2010, now it’s 2013, and I’m on Level J.

  • meenu on February 15, 2013

    been to kumon centre in putney, london.its horrible.lady running the centre is very rude, staff is not at all qaulified to handle kids..its just money making.worksheets can be taken from net rather paying to kumon for 10 mins with cheap unqualified school kids teaching for easy money.

  • Jeni on February 22, 2013

    Its kind of ironic that all the students that have posted that they think Kumon is helping them, have not been able to spell or type correctly. They are using phone slang shortcuts, which, if you wish to get anywhere in life, is a bad habit not to encourage. No employer will take you on if you write like that. If I were Kumon, I’d be ashamed of the public examples of my teaching skills. Isn’t English one of the topics?

  • Michael on March 8, 2013

    I strongly urge everyone to at least Tabtor. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. We just won the Shiksha Ratan award in India from the Department of Education as the Best MAth LAb solution in the country. Private schools across the U.S. are excited after presenting at the NAIS convention in Philly last week.

    http://www.tabtor.com

    There is a Free Trial for 14 days with no credit card necessary absoultely no risk. If you use mathinsider1 in the referral code, you will save $10 a month. There is a physical tutor behind every child that personalizes his or her work flow to their strengths and weaknesses. We are the only service out there that can provide this service and we are able to do so through technology.

    To start use the link here: https://www.tabtor.com/app/freetrial.php?code=mathinsider1

  • Ms Mary on April 5, 2013

    My kids have been in kumon since they were 3. Guess its about 6 years now. Initially it was math and reading. I ditched the reading last year- it did not improve reading comp, as my son pretty much just memorized the answers on each packet. I have read all the comments here, must say that those parents who say their child is 5 doing level H work is pretty hard to swallow. The child has to do repeats of work sheets, and its days. A kid would have to do 30 sheets a day to pull that off, by kumon standards.- Unless the kumon instructor is doing her/his own thing. I love the math kumon- I wanted my kids to be able to master all 4 functions- add/subtract/multiply and divide, now fractions. I must say this, when kids are younger kumon is living hell. Its hard for them to just do it and hours will pass. Eventually though the child learns self control and whammo its 20 minutes. My kids have concentration, which I really attribute to them doing work everyday. I will say I am not a kumon nazi. Since they are both 2 yrs ahead in math, they do 3 pages a day and one day a week no kumon. This keeps them sane. My son is in 3rd grade and daughter in 2nd grade, private school. The school is all about games for math- yet the students are hardly proficient. There is no way the kids in the class could answer more challenging problems. My son – his class has not mastered the times table and division is a joke. If I had not done kumon for them I would be really concerned that they really can’t do math. The issue is schools really suck at math. If my kids can learn adding/subtracting really hard problems and master times table at the end of first grade then why oh why are schools unable to do this with a child at the end of 3rd grade? Our math skills as a nation are dismal, I can see very clearly as to why now. In China, all the kids learn how to multiply at the end of 1st grade, here- maybe they get it in 4th. Its this everyday math, combining addition/ subtraction and wanting clever solutions to complicated word problems. In my opinion, the kids just have to do the math, it is not about loving it all the the time, but character is built. It takes my son 5 minutes to do his math homework, at school mind you. He does not have math class everyday, only 2 times a week, math homework is rare. Pitiful really. The money I spend at kumon is well spent. The teachers hate, hate kumon- but if every kid in the class did kumon they would be forced to come up with a more challenging math program- ta da! If schools believe they are doing such a great job how about giving the kids here- 3rd graders a shanghai 1st grade math test? It would be hard to look at that and do nothing. Its my job to get my kids up to global standards , I can’t get these years back. But!!! If you do kumon give the kids a break every now and then. I will walk into kumon after 1.5 hours and pull them out- they sit and wait forever for corrections, I say “sick” and walk them out. Time is time, can’t be a maniac about it.

  • Michael Silva on April 5, 2013

    Many people from this blog have been coming to our site, so thank you very much. We recently just got covered in Fast Company Magazine. Check out the article and see for yourself.

    http://www.fastcompany.com/3007902/how-tablet-tutoring-company-tabtor-aims-shake-math-education

    Take a free test drive at Tabtor.com

  • Ramesh on May 22, 2013

    My daughter is with kumon for 3rd year and we found that the its almost rip of your money and time and the instructors are worst ever don’t update the progress and do lot cheap tricks to get money and milking you so that your kids study there long time
    They give few papers or give the same papers again and again and don’t listen to the kids or even parents and adamant
    There are so many sites now and you can learn a lot if your kids spent at-least half an hour
    rather than you do this as its useless in kids education and not helps to pass any exams at all

  • Anonymous on May 31, 2013

    I’m a marker at kumon. In my opinion, kumon is a waste of money. It’s expensive. Moreover, they didn’t teach or solve problems. A lot of students do not understand when they reach new level and just keep making mistakes. There are no teacher guiding. Moreover, the instructor and staff are not professional in maths. So, if you want your kids to have good foundation in maths or truly understand the concepts of maths, I’d not suggest kumon.

  • sam on July 19, 2013

    Kumon is for those who want there son or daughter to always be busy. It makes student over confident and ultimately they end up doing bad in Higher grades and universities. I have first experience about this. It is just a business, people get tricked.

  • AKumonStudent on August 3, 2013

    I am a Kumon student since, 2011 and I am now on level I as well as sixth grade
    I only do math and while I find it sometimes diffifult I do it, here is what I think;

    Pros ~
    Kumon really drills it in and every packet builds upon the last
    We learn not to always rely on your teachers but to figure it out yourself

    Cons ~
    Expensive
    Teachers are mean
    Not a friendly, happy envioment
    Too much work really, I found that My HARD Kumon with Simple but a lot of School work really cut my time
    I am a straight up A+ student and Kumon really takes time and effort from school

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge